Being a Missionary is Awesome

Aiga Erickson!

What’s up? How’s life? Thanks for all the little letters this week! Especially Thomas! Thanks!

MTC is good. I promise that once you get to the MTC, every day is better than the last. It’s hard to believe that now I’m counting down until I head out for Samoa! Only eight more days! Everyone in my district – including me – is ready to go and just experience everything. I don’t know if I’ve mentioned this or not, but there are three big islands that I could serve on. Moving from west to east, they are Savai’i, Upolu, and Tutuila. Savai’i is the most traditionally Samoan and also the most primitive. Upolu is less so but still everyone speaks Samoan. On Tutuila [American Samoa] people still mostly speak Samoan but there’s a lot of palagi [white people] influence too. So hopefully I’ll get sent to the far end of Savai’i and really have to learn to speak and be Samoan. Of course, I want to see all three [islands] but I can’t wait to be sent to just the middle of nowhere. Also, they have dogs all over and they’ll come after you until you hit them with a rock or something. That’s going to be awesome! And there are some huge centipedes that are just crazy fast, and they bite, and whenever they bite you, you swell up really big  and it hurts like crazy. I’ll let you know if I get bit. My teacher said one of his companions got bit right on his hot chicken. Pray that doesn’t happen to me.

What else to tell you guys? Oh! So we have two “investigators” that are really just our teachers, but we committed them both to be baptized and they said yes! I think mostly they’re just good sports but I have seen a glimpse of how people can change and how they’re blessed when they follow the Savior. Honestly, the biggest change I’ve seen has been how my companion and I have gotten so much better at teaching and speaking. It’s incredible! It’s awesome to see that as we keep the commandments, God blesses us beyond what we think is possible. You guys should go look at chapter 3 lesson 4 in Preach My Gospel.  There’s some good stuff there that helps remind us of the commandments we need to live and why we should live them. Also, you can see what I’m going to be asking people to do and how to change their lives.

Another thing that has been great is that as a missionary you are introducing people to the restored gospel for the first time. I get to spend a lot of time looking at the basics again. It’s great getting to see the very basic elements of the Gospel and how we can gain simple testimonies of all the things therein. Teaching the restoration is especially important to me because now I’ve been to Palmyra and Kirtland and Nauvoo. I felt the special spirit of those places and I know that God restored his church to the earth there. I know the Book of Mormon is the word of God, and I know that because the book is true, Joseph Smith was a prophet of God. Because of that, I know that God’s power is on this earth and that we need the Priesthood. I know that God loves us and is the same today, yesterday and forever. Being a missionary is awesome and I know that all we have to do is open our mouths and share what we know and love. It really is a blessing to get to spend an entire two years sharing with people!

Keep me updated with what you all are up to during the week even if you think it’s boring let me know. Ha ha. I want to stay informed. Even when I’m across the continent and an ocean. Love y’all!

Vocabulary:

O le Togiola, e mafai ai ora, tatou Sa’alotou mai agasula = Through the Atonement, we can be freed from our sins.
Molinau = Testimony
Mumu = Red
Upu = Word
Mari = True
Upu moni = Truth
E le afa’ina = No worries! (literal translation = no hurricanes)

-Doran

