And by Addressed, I Mean There Was a Fight

This week has just flown by! So Monday we helped out with an umu and prepping a ton of food for a birthday party/FHE later that evening.Tuesday not too much happened. We got one referral from my Trainer’s Trainer so that was good! Wednesday my companion and I split up and went with two guys from the ward to visit families. I went with Sa (the Returned Missionary that served in Brisbane) and we visited a few families and got one lady to commit to come back to church. So good day Wednesday. Then Thursday we went to meet with one of our investigators, Roy. His whole family is baptized and goes to church most of the time but he’s 20 and still isn’t baptized. He’s heard all the lessons so we’re just trying to get to know him and hopefully resolve his concerns. Sa came with us so Elder Vaai and Sa talked to Roy, and his mom and sister tried to teach me some Samoan. That’s kind of our excuse to meet with him though. I learn Samoan and my companion talks to him. He really likes playing basketball so we shared the Mormon Message about Tyler Haws. He really enjoyed it and has started coming to church! He’s also started reading the Book of Mormon and talked to us about why it took so long for Nephi to kill Laban. Haha he’s a good guy and hopefully we can help him come closer to Christ and he will choose to be baptized! On Friday we had a zone meeting and talked about Chapter 11 in PMG which deals with Keeping Commitments. Well, most of the zone talked about it. It was in Samoan, so I just read the chapter and took notes on what I liked. Then Saturday not much happened…
Sunday was crazy though! So we start church at 9 AM and since we had daylight savings time switch we didn’t expect a lot of people to show up. At the start of Sacrament meeting the overflow wasn’t even opened but slowly people started to trickle in and we had a lot of people there! We had 3 of our investigators there and a lot of less active families that we had visited! It was great to see so many people there when it would have been easy to make an excuse about the time change and just sleep or whatever! Then we had a lesson with Harold, one of our investigators about o le upu o le poto (word of wisdom) and it was great! He said he could see how helpful that could be to him and his family. It definitely appealed to the logical side of his brain but I could feel the spirit there so I think that helped reinforce it even more. Then that evening there was a fireside with a choir from the church school Pesega. Oddly enough it’s located in the town of Pasega. It’s neat though because it’s right behind the temple and the mission home and all that stuff. But after the fireside they had a stake choir meeting. But after the meeting there were some previous problems between two of the wards that were addressed. And by addressed, I mean there was a fight. To keep it short there were some punches thrown, then some rocks, and yeah. Not the way I’ve ever ended a fireside or Sabbath day but I’m not in Kansas whoops…Georgia any more.

I love Samoa and being a missionary so much! This is a special place and I know that I’m here for a special reason. Heavenly Father and His Prophet on Earth have called me here for a special reason so all I need to do is forget about myself and go to work. These people are incredible and the work is progressing. Heavenly Father truly is hastening His work. I know that God and Jesus Christ live and that they love us. I know that through the Prophet Joseph Smith They restored the priesthood power and the fulness of the Gospel to the Earth. I know that through the power of God Joseph Smith translated the Book of Mormon and that if we read it we can know that it is the word of God. I know that the Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints is Christ’s church on Earth. I’m so thankful for loving parents, grandparents, aunts, uncles, cousins, siblings, and others that have taught me these special truths and for their examples. I’m just happy and humbled that I have the opportunity to forward that knowledge on to the people of Samoa.

Keep on being amazing.

-Elder Doran Erickson

Malu Malu (Temple) #2

Malu Malu (Temple) #2

Malu Malu (Temple) #1

Malu Malu (Temple) #1

The Fale (House/Apartment)

The Fale (House/Apartment)

Now, That's a Banana

Now, That’s a Banana

 

