You Ate What…?

This week was great! Especially when compared to the last week spent indoors apply antibiotics and wiping off puss.So a couple pieces of good news for this week. First and foremost Elder Vaai and I have two baptisms this weekend! It’s amazing to see people go through the changes needed to prepare for baptism and to see them get happier and happier as they move toward that gateway on the path to eternal life. One of the kids is a 16 year old guy that lives right across from the chapel. He just started out with coming to play basketball and volleyball with the ward and the youth here in the ward. We got to know him and then after a couple invitations asked when he could start taking the lessons! His dad is a Faifeau (minister) in another church but he stays with his grandma here in Moto’otua. That was a big hurdle for him to overcome but we just reminded that like in 1 Nephi 3:7 when God gives a commandment, he makes it possible for us to follow it. The other guy is 20 years old and his entire family are members. He just never got baptized and then distanced himself from getting baptized. But luckily the kids here are pretty awesome and a really big influence for good on those around them. He comes to play basketball all the time as well and so that’s how we got to meet him as well. It’s great to see that sometimes all we can or need to do is to be an example of what we know is right and others will notice and follow.

Second, I ate Dog for the first time! It was actually way good! It tastes kinda like pork and I would definitely recommend it.

Third, I have lost 20 lbs since being here in Samoa! Haha hopefully I’ll keep it off but I think the missionary work out is a good one! Just walk everywhere and sweat 24/7.

That’s pretty much it. Just a lot of visits this week and getting these 2 ready for baptism. I’m excited for them!

Love all of you so much.

-Elder Doran Erickson
PS: Also this week we had personal interviews with President Tolman. In mine he said a couple of things that stick out.
  1. He said he can tell that my Samoan is going to get pretty good. He said that because I throw myself out there and speak whenever I can the language will come. He also says that he thinks I have a natural gift for hearing pronunciations and languages and picking it up. All I know is that wasn’t the case in 10th grade Spanish. Haha.
  2. I’m probably going to be training here in a few months. Hopefully I finish out the year with Elder Vaai in Moto’otua but my training is over in 4 weeks and there is a new intake shortly after that before the new year starts. So we’ll see. It’ll be the blind leading the blind but Elder Vaai says he thinks my Samoan will be pretty good by Christmas. I can already see improvement. I understand a lot more and I’m getting some good sentences together off the top of my head. I love it. It’s a challenge and struggle but I enjoy it.
PSS: Here’s a good story from this week! [see Item #1 above] There is a slight language warning. So we were at a family’s house after an FHE/Lesson/Dinner with one of our investigators. I was showing the kids my pictures and there’s the one with Niagra Falls in the background. I asked my companion how to say ‘waterfall’ in Samoan and so he told me “vae tafe” literally “water flow”. But what I heard and said is “vae tEfe“. Vae being water and Tefe meaning <insert bad word>. So I pretty much cussed at a little girl after FHE.
Additional Notes:
To Dad: The Book of Mormon is so alive with stories and teachings that are applicable to our day! The book of Alma is my favorite. So many incredible stories about incredible men doing incredible things for the preservation of liberty and more importantly righteousness. Captain Moroni writing to Pahoran [see Alma 59 – 62, inclusive] is one of my favorite stories. Right behind Ammon chopping off arms and converting a kingdom’s worth of Lamanites. The other day one of the Dad’s in our ward shared a scripture relating to enduring to the end. Mosiah 2:41. Give that one a read and let me know what you think.
Becky: “How is your foot?  We could not figure out if you were barefoot in the photos because of the blister or had the blister because of being barefoot…?”
Doran: “Nah. Wearing flip flops because of healing foot. Well, and because Samoa.”
Taking a Break

Taking a Break

Lua found a bird and wanted to show me. (Lua on the left, Poasa on the right)

Lua found a bird and wanted to show me. (Lua on the left, Poasa on the right)

Just Another Day Proselyting

Just Another Day Proselyting

