Circumstances change. People change. Perspectives change.

So far so good! My 4 month mark approaches this week! Crazy how the time flies. A few interesting things happened this week.

First, at the beginning of the week President Tolman came to talk to us because he knew we were close with the Elders that went home. He just wanted to check on us and make sure we didn’t get bogged down because of the choices of others. It just helped us commit to stand for what we know is right even if others around us are making bad choices. President came and did companionship study with us the next day and helped give some insight on an investigator we have. He even offered to come to a teaching appointment with us to give us some help. This investigator doesn’t really care for our message of “one true church”. He feels that pretty much any kind of religious experience is good enough. We just keep trying to press the importance of the Book of Mormon and that God’s true church is on the Earth today! Isn’t that an incredible message? That God, the omnipotent creator of Heaven and Earth, has established the entirety of His plan for us in the Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints! Everything we need for happiness in this life and beyond can be found in this Church and in the Book of Mormon. It’s incredible.

Next, this week we really made an effort to meet with an investigator that was taught all the lessons by the Elders that were here in Moto’otua before us. He never committed to baptism and didn’t really progress. For 3 days we tried to drop by but he wasn’t ever home but finally we caught him. We shared Matthew 3:13-17 where Christ was baptized by John the Baptist to “fulfill all righteousness”. Then I asked him “O lea e mulimuli la i le faataitaiga a Iesu Keriso e ala i le papatisoina e se tasi o loo umia le pule o le perisitua a le Atua?” (Will you follow the example of Jesus Christ and be baptized by some one holding the priesthood of God?) And he said “Yes!”

Elder Vaai and I were so surprised so we set a date for the 22nd of November then and there! Never give up on people! One thing I learned in the MTC is that we should never give up. Circumstances change. People change. Perspectives change. Who knows? Maybe this man needed to hear a baptismal invitation in rough Samoan this week. I don’t know but Heavenly Father does. I know that I’m here in Samoa for a reason and that there are people here that can be helped by my testimony in (for now) very rough Samoan. I love you all. I pray for you daily. I know that Heavenly Father watches over all of us and wants what’s best for us.

Elder Doran Erickson


Doran: Any inspirational quotes for the week? Here are mine:

I believe in Christ as I believe in the Sun at noon day. Not because I can see it, but by it I can see everything else. – C.S. Lewis

There is nothing noble in being superior to some other man. The true nobility is in being superior to your previous self.

Reply:

“I openly acknowledge the unearned, undeserved, unending blessings in my life, both temporal and spiritual. Like you, I have had to worry about finances on occasion, but I have never been poor, nor do I even know how the poor feel. Furthermore, I do not know all the reasons why the circumstances of birth, health, education, and economic opportunities vary so widely here in mortality, but when I see the want among so many, I do know that “there but for the grace of God go I.” I also know that although I may not be my brother’s keeper, I am my brother’s brother, and “because I have been given much, I too must give.” – Elder Jeffrey R. Holland from “Are We Not All Beggars?

Doran: That was a good talk. O te alofa i Elder Holland.

My hair cut with an added "kosi" Any of the cool kids doing this in the States? Thoughts?

My hair cut with an added “kosi” Any of the cool kids doing this in the States? Thoughts?

Samoan kids make these cannons out of cans taped together. You pour some lighter fluid or gas in, coat the inside, then light a hole at the bottom and BOOM!

Samoan kids make these cannons out of cans taped together. You pour some lighter fluid or gas in, coat the inside, then light a hole at the bottom and BOOM!

This is what I've been wearing mostly for the past few weeks. They're some hearty "Samoa-proof" slippers. You can see that my feet are already being tanned quite well. No grandpa sandals for me.

This is what I’ve been wearing mostly for the past few weeks. They’re some hearty “Samoa-proof” slippers. You can see that my feet are already being tanned quite well. No grandpa sandals for me.

From L to R. (Back) Elder Cassinat and Tupu. (Sitting) Elder Pitoitua, Aiono, Elder Mu, Elder Wilson, Me. (Front) Elder Vaai

From L to R. (Back) Elder Cassinat and Tupu. (Sitting) Elder Pitoitua, Aiono, Elder Mu, Elder Wilson, Me. (Front) Elder Vaai

