Giving is Better than Receiving

Yo yo yo! Another week down and another week closer to Christmas! This week was something.

Monday (P-day) was a good day of laundry, sleep, and studying. Not much happened just stayed close to home.

Tuesday, Elder Vaai and I hit it hard! We went out and contacted some good referrals, some less actives, got fed a good breakfast of chicken and rice by some members, and taught some good lessons!

Wednesday I got sick. Like bad sick. Throwing up, hurting stomach, diarrhea, the whole deal. Not fun. I don’t think it was anything I ate though. It might have been some good vae pipa though (water from the pipe). I’m not really certain what happend. All I do know is that it was not fun. Towards the evening I felt way better and was ready to head out in the morning.

Thursday still sick. Even worse than Wednesday. We have district meeting Thursday mornings and I didn’t even plan on going. Then the Zone Leaders stopped by to pick up us and the Sisters in Vailima (up the road). They said they’d take me to see Sister Kamerth (the mission nurse) after district meeting so that got me dressed and in the van. District meeting was not good though. I spent most of the time in the bathroom throwing up and the likes. And of course someone actually brought us food! The one time I have zero desire to eat! Bummer. Anyways, I didn’t feel good at all and apparently didn’t look good because as soon as the lesson ended the Zone Leaders and Elder Vaai and I went to the office. Sister Kamerth just gave me some Pepto-Bismal and some diarrhea pills. We went home, I took it, and slept. That did the trick though.

Friday I still wasn’t 100% so we worked the phone and tried to track some people down and find some records of people that are in our area now.

Saturday we went to our District Leader’s area to help with the work. We all split up and I went with one of the Zone Leaders (Elder Suianoa) and a YSA guy from that ward. It was good! We visited a good amount of families and did some good work for the area. Then that evening we had the adult session of the Apia Central Stake Conference. Elder O. Vincent Haleck of the 70 presided and shared some great stories.

Sunday was Stake Conference and it was a big one because they released President Uta’i and called a new presidency. The Uta’i family lives in Moto’otua and they’re incredible. President Uta’i is definitely a dedicated servant of the Lord. He’s a great example and leader. I’ve learned a lot from him even though I’ve only known him for 3 months. It’s great how the Lord calls men to lead us locally. They really do want what’s best for us!

So, another one down. Haha just another week of being a missionary here in Samoa. I can’t wait for Christmas to get even closer. The Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints is the same church set up by Christ while He was on the Earth. Prophets still lead God’s children. The Book of Mormon is scripture. I know these things are true. Anyone can know these things to be true. All they have to do is sincerely ask our Heavenly Father and be willing to act on the answer we recieve. Moroni 10:3-5 is a scripture I share all the time on my mission. How great would it be if this Christmas season we recieved, from the Holy Ghost, a deep witness that these things are true? And all we need to do is ask. Also since “giving is better than receiving“, if you already know these things are true, share it with someone! Let them know the “good tidings of great joy” (to keep the Christmas spirit) that the only completely true church on the earth is the Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints and that more happiness then they have ever known can be found within. Love you all and keep being the great individuals you are.

Elder Doran Erickson

One of the dogs at our house had 5 puppies. I named the white one after myself because, well, Palagi (gringo) surrounded by a bunch of brown people.

One of the dogs at our house had 5 puppies. I named the white one after myself because, well, Palagi (gringo) surrounded by a bunch of brown people.

We got a Christmas tree for our house! We just don't have anything to decorate it with...

We got a Christmas tree for our house! We just don’t have anything to decorate it with…

This is a huge Bible that one family had! It was awesome! It's the same one that the Loku Pope use here (Pope Church or Catholic).

This is a huge Bible that one family had! It was awesome! It’s the same one that the Loku Pope use here (Pope Church or Catholic).

Stockings hung by the window with care (mostly to dry)

Stockings hung by the window with care (mostly to dry)

