I Heard the Bells on Christmas Day

Robert to Doran: Rachel asked me, “What’s your favorite Christmas song?” I answered, “I’m Dreaming of a White Christmas”. As you know I so miss that snow and cold around the Christmas season…she then asked which Church Christmas song and my favorite is “I Heard the Bells on Christmas Day”. I so enjoy the words of Mr. Longfellow. First…

…There is no peace on earth, I said,
For hate is strong,
And mocks the song,
Of peace on earth,good-will to men!

But then…

Then pealed the bells more loud and deep:
God is not dead, nor doth He sleep;
The Wrong shall fail,
The Right prevail,
With peace on earth, good-will to men.

Doran’s Reply: It is hard to “feel” like Christmas when it is 80 degrees every day. I miss seasons a lot as well. I’m ready to freeze when I get back :). “I Heard the Bells on Christmas Day” is a special song. Mr. Longfellow realized something that I wish more people would. Heavenly Father does live. As well as His Only Begotten, Jesus Christ.

