Stand Firm

“Be sure you put your feet in the right place, then stand firm.”
-Abraham Lincoln

Becky Erickson wrote:
By the way how are your feet? Everyone here is very concerned about this. The blisters certainly come from rubbing and wet feet. Grandma is particularly upset. You are going to have to really take care of your body. You will be of little use if you are not healthy. Figuring out how to keep your feet dry and free of jungle rot is of great importance. Perhaps you will have to experiment. Changing socks during the day? Bringing an extra pair? Changing shoes midday? Rotating? If you don’t know what to do please ask the mission president’s wife or medical people.

Doran Erickson wrote:
The thing with the blisters is that they aren’t normal blisters from rubbing! I know what those look/feel like and these are different. Nobody believes me so please listen. IT IS NOT MY FOOTWEAR OR SOCKS. It’s just some trial I guess. I’m trying everything I can to make them better though.

Becky Erickson wrote:
You are cracking us up about the NOT my socks and footwear. This may be a real trial for you. At least you do not have rats eating your feet. Have you considered fasting? I definitely think a priesthood blessing is in order. You are strong and healthy. You will be healed of this. We are all praying for your recovery.

Doran Erickson wrote:
And thanks for all your concern about my feet. haha I never knew you guys were so invested in my gross feet.

The Foot. Ouch.

The Foot. Ouch.

Kina lo'u vae

Kina lo’u vae

This is what I've been wearing mostly for the past few weeks. They're some hearty "Samoa-proof" slippers. You can see that my feet are already being tanned quite well. No grandpa sandals for me.

This is what I’ve been wearing mostly for the past few weeks. They’re some hearty “Samoa-proof” slippers. You can see that my feet are already being tanned quite well. No grandpa sandals for me.

