Fa’auta, o a’u o se so’o o Iesu Keriso

Man, February just flew by! Granted it is the shortest month of the year but still! Elder Seumanu and I are still getting through the work we have and our Samoan is growing. More importantly though is my testimony that Heavenly Father looks after each of His children individually. I know that each part of my mission is what is best for me. Each companion, each area, the new language, etc. It’s just small blessings that help me realize how much our Father in Heaven loves us all; especially on a personal level.

So. For the weekly report. The week started off like any other here on the backside of Upolu. We struggled to find a computer to use so I apologize for my lack of responses. I love you all still, so don’t worry. Buses here are pretty unreliable as well but we ended up lucking out and getting a ride home from a relative of Elder Seumanu. That was no doubt a blessing that came from our patience of waiting for over an hour and a half for a bus to come. Then Elder Seumanu’s uncle came walking by to buy some stuff at the shop! Blessings.

Tuesday night we had a good fafaga (or so we thought) of beef soup and taro. The next morning both Elder Seumanu and I we on and off the toilet all day with nothing solid in our system. So no proselyting on Wednesday. Thursday was more of the same for Elder Seumanu and apart from a district meeting in the morning we didn’t leave the house for fear of having to replace some pants.

Luckily we made up for our time in the house on Friday. We walked to the neighboring village of Sa’aga and did some great visits there. We received heaps of referrals and have some good names and houses to try and start some lessons this week. Saturday was spent trying to narrow down the list of names we received and racking our brains for anyone that really wants to start the lessons. At the moment we’ve just got one investigator taking lessons and we’re teaching the last one tonight. We’re going to try and resolve some concerns he may have and work towards a baptismal date next week! Hopefully all goes well.

As inspired by my sweet mother I’ve been spending this week trying to memorize 3 Nifae 5:13. “Fa’auta, o a’u o se so’o o Iesu Keriso, le Alo o le Atua. Ua ia vala’auina a’u e tala’i atu lana afiogai totonu o ona tagata, ina ia mafai ona latou maua le ola tumau-fa’avavau.” In English: “Behold, I am a disciple of Jesus Christ, the Son of God. I have been called to declare his word among his people, that they may have everlasting life.” How great it is to have the opportunity to on a daily basis declare that God lives and that He loves us. He wants us to happy and has given us the teachings of the Gospel of Jesus Christ. I know that true happiness comes from following God’s will for us. He will never lead us astray or ask us to do something that is beyond our capabilities. Haha this knowledge helps me every day as people talk to me and I don’t know what the heck they just said. I know that the language will come. I’ve been commanded to preach the Gospel in the Samoan language and just like in 1 Nephi 3:7 “He shall prepare a way for [me] that [I] may accomplish the things which he commandeth [me]” (pronouns changed to make it personal). I love this work and I love my Savior. Thanks for all that you do for me. Keep up the good work. Everything I am is because of your influence in my life. Love you.

Love,

Elder Erickson


The following is an exchange between Thomas (age 5) and Doran.

Thomas writes:

Dear Doran:

I miss you a lot. I am having troubles. I am having problems. Mom said I was a jerk. I won’t put my clothes on, I am jumping on Matthew’s tummy, I am crying a lot, and I won’t be reverent sitting in the front row in front of my family. I said a prayer and I said, “Dear Heavenly Father, I’m having problems. In the name of Jesus Christ, Amen.” I felt nothing. What can you do to help?

I don’t really know anything else to say.

Love,
Thomas

P.S. I like wrestling

Doran’s Reply:

Thomas. Try and remember to be loving. You’re really good at loving, so just think about that the next time you want to jump on Matt’s stomach. Haha I love you so much. Thanks for your letters! I hope you’re doing great and not being a dorknozzle. Alofa atu.

Doran

P.S. I like wrestling too

One of the houses for one of our daily dinner appointment (fafaga). Pretty cool piece of land I thought.

One of the houses for one of our daily dinner appointment (fafaga). Pretty cool piece of land I thought.

Trying to get artsy. Just a flower outside our house.

Trying to get artsy. Just a flower outside our house.

A dog died right over the fence next to our house and started to rot and reek. Some guys from the ward came and did some barbecuing to get rid of it. (haha jk. No BBQ but yes burning.)

A dog died right over the fence next to our house and started to rot and reek. Some guys from the ward came and did some barbecuing to get rid of it. (haha jk. No BBQ but yes burning.)

Raw sugar cane at our Ward Mission Leader's house in Siumu. You just take a bite, chew it, swallow the juice, and spit out the stalk that's left.

Raw sugar cane at our Ward Mission Leader’s house in Siumu. You just take a bite, chew it, swallow the juice, and spit out the stalk that’s left.

"Just out here gettin' guap." Haha, this is the money for the whole zone. (130 Tala which is the equivalent to about $55 USD)

“Just out here gettin’ guap.” Haha, this is the money for the whole zone. (130 Tala which is the equivalent to about $55 USD)

A Coke and a Smile. Shout-out to Grandpa Don.

A Coke and a Smile. Shout-out to Grandpa Don.

