Setting Goals

Malo lava le soifua! Another great one in the Pearl of the Pacific. So this past week we worked hard and were rewarded for it! This past week we had a baptismal date set for our investigator Mataio. In order to meet that goal we had a lesson Tuesday, Wednesday, and Thursday. The Zone Leaders did the interview on Friday and Saturday we did his baptism along with his 8 year old son Fotulupe! It’s great how much the work has picked up here in Siumu and it’s a blessing to spend this time with a good friend from the MTC. We’ve been working hard, having great lessons and discussions with individuals, setting goals for baptisms and other areas to push ourselves and having fun all the while!

This past Wednesday we had another round of interviews with President Tolman paired with some training from the AP’s. The main thing from the interview with President was he said that Elder Hayes and I will probably stay together for another transfer (6 weeks). That’s some good news because we’ve got lots of work to do and we both have goals that we want to accomplish together. I’m happy for the opportunity to push myself with some one that has been out the exact same amount of time as me and is pretty much my equal (except that he’s way more handsome than me).

Today was our district P-Day so we went to a museum of Samoan history at the bottom of my first area that I didn’t even know existed! It was pretty cool to see some old pictures of the island and to read up on some of the cultural aspects of Samoa. Samoan culture permeates everything we do here so I really enjoy learning the history and reasons behind some of the things they do. It’s impossible to learn the language without learning the culture and vice versa.

I’m sorry, I know you guys requested some other things for the email but I completely forgot so next week I’ll try and make it better! Love you all!

Elder Erickson


From Doran to Becky (Mother)

Completely forgot those prompts. I apologize. next week for sure. And I should be able to Skype coming up. There’s a resort in our area with Wifi so we should be able to connect. This week we’ll do some research because Hayes wants to do the same thing. Please give my love to the boys and coaches of the Alpharetta Phoenix rugby team. I know that the cleats Bennett wore won one state championship before that. Tell him good job. He doesn’t email me so please pass on my congratulations. [Editors Note: Bennett has been sending email to Doran’s non-missionary address. ;)] The work in the area is really good! We’ve got a lot of solid people working through some difficulties on the way to baptism so it’s good. We’ve set may 9th as a goal for 2 of them and we’ll probably commit one more for that day as well. Now wedding vow renewal last week. Pushed it to May 1st so it should be good! In the Book of Mormon, I’m still in 2nd Nephi but projecting to be in Mosiah by the end of this week. I got held up studying some other things and didn’t really keep up with the 6 month reading challenge. Don’t worry though. Love you heaps too. I miss you so so so much! I really hope the Skype will work this coming month! I’ll let you know next Monday. Have dad tell me what time in his email next week so we can coordinate and actually get it to work. Love you. Sorry this is so late today. ❤

From Thomas to Doran, plus Reply
Hi this is from Thomas

I want to let you know I gave away a book of Mormon today. It was my first ever to Derek’s family. I said they should read it every night. The mom said okay I will and then I told them that the book contains the word of Jesus and God. They were planting flowers.

I felt happy giving away the book of Mormon. Mom and I are reading the Book of Mormon at night. We just read about Lehi and the tree of life. And do you know that story? I don’t like the part when Nephi had to cut out Laban’s head, it was sad and made me cry.

What is your favorite part of the book of Mormon?

I had a bloody nose at conference or church or whatever today. I wiped it on my white shirt and it made my shirt sleeve very dirty. I had to go to the bathroom to wash it off.

I learned how to tackle people. Matthew taught me – I can wrap up. I will tackle you when you come home.

I love you. Love Thomas.

Doran’s Reply…Good on ya Thomas! Or should I say Tomasi? Keep up that Book of Mormon reading and sharing! My favorite part of the BOM is Alma chapter 17-18. With Ammon. He had to chop some people too but it was to protect other people. He was a good missionary just like you too! Do you know any Kings you can share the gospel with? And you better tackle me when you see me. Love you.


Our baptism last Saturday! Mataio (53) and his son Fotulupe (8)!

Our baptism last Saturday! Mataio (53) and his son Fotulupe (8)!

District P-Day today was just too much for some of us.

District P-Day today was just too much for some of us.

Fe'e or octopus was for dinner this past week. It was surprisingly meaty but still fishy so not a big fan of it...

Fe’e or octopus was for dinner this past week. It was surprisingly meaty but still fishy so not a big fan of it…

Pretty cool waterfall with a viewpoint from our area.

Pretty cool waterfall with a viewpoint from our area.

Our new investigator's house in the middle of nowhere. It's actually really cool! I'll try and get a picture of the house this coming week.

Our new investigator’s house in the middle of nowhere. It’s actually really cool! I’ll try and get a picture of the house this coming week.

