Transfer to Yesterday

Hey so big news first. I’m getting transferred! I’m going to Tutuila and I’ll be serving in PagoPago. Haha so I’ll finally be able to get some American love. And mail will get to me quicker so I guess that’s cool. It’s a bummer to be leaving Siumu and Elder Hayes though. I’ve really come to love this area. It’s also a bummer to leave Samoa. In Tutuila it’s kinda different. I’ll give you more info on that when I actually get there.

Anyways… So for this past week. Things have kind of slowed down now that we’ve had all those baptisms lately. So this past week we’ve just been going around, teaching the one investigator with a baptism this coming week (a super pretty girl so I’m bummed I’m not going to be around to finish off her marriage and baptism), and then got Ioane ready for baptism this past Saturday.
It was a pretty good week but later tonight we’re going to faamavae with a bunch of families (say good bye). It’s going to be sad saying good bye to these families that have done so much to make my stay in Samoa the best possible. These people have accepted me and done so much for me. I just hope I can repay them in some small way by helping share the Gospel of Jesus Christ with them and their families.
Tutuila is a day behind Samoa as well so I may be able to get on email again tomorrow! (Cross your fingers). I’m sorry for the short letter this week. Love you heaps though. It was really good to hear from so many of you this week. I know it’s a busy time for y’all with graduation and school ending. Party hard for me huh?
Love you.
Elder Erickson

Hey! I made it safely over from Upolu to Tutuila. My new area overlooks the Pago harbor. American Samoa is soooo different. It’s crazy how after you finally get used to something that used to be ‘weird’ and go back to the old the old becomes the new ‘weird’. Haha did that make sense? So the plane ride over was pretty sketchy. It was a super small one where you can see the pilots flying the plane and you’re sitting on top of the person next to you. It was all good though. A pretty short flight. Only about 30 mins. And since I crossed back over the international date line I got two P-Days this week! It was fun to come over. Honestly this morning and on the way over I was really nervous and reluctant to come over. I wanted to switch islands but I wanted to go to Savaii. Here in Tutuila it’s incredibly different. One way my new Zone Leader described it is American Samoa is a mix of a developed Upolu and a ghetto Hawaii. Haha the island is super different geographically as well. It’s super mountainous. There’s these super steep, green mountains all around so that’s taking some getting used to. And then culturally the Samoan culture is pretty weak from what I’ve seen (even though it’s been less than a day (I’ll update you next week after actually getting out and visiting with people.)). So it’s strange after doing all I can to embrace and learn this new culture I get sent to an area where it’s not used as much. Hopefully I won’t forget all I’ve learned. My companion is Elder Perkins from Gooding, Idaho. He’s finishing in August so I may be his last companion. We’ll see! His Samoan is pretty good so hopefully he’ll be able to help me out and teach me a lot. He’s an interesting guy but I really like him. He’s super nice and helpful. So these next few months I’m going to just try and get used to this new vibe in American Samoa. I’m still bugging out how much more developed and fortunate we are over here. I was blown away by a couple things today… 1. The Zone Leaders have a microwave in their house (I don’t even know a family with a microwave in Upolu) 2. The mountains that surround everything. 3. The chapel has air conditioning. 4. The family for fafaga today dropped of McDonalds. 5. I saw an American $20 bill. 6. Cars are driving on the right side of the road and the steering wheel is on the left.

Haha I’m sure more will come as I’m here longer. Oh and our house is just up the hill from the harbor. It looks out to the harbor and is way beautiful. We live with a family as well so that should be fun again. I’ll get some pictures to you soon (turn down for that 2 picture rule though). It’s been a crazy day and I’m sure the week will get even crazier. Love you heaps. Thanks for everything!
Oh and PS. The senior couple here, the Saunders, are from Calgary, Canada and know one family in GA. The Salmons. Their daughter married one of the Salmon’s sons. You should ask them if they know the couple which I’m sure they do if they’re in-laws. crazy small world.

Hey! American Samoa is so crazy. It’s so crazy how much stuff is available here. It’s really different from Upolu. My last area was way more cultural and rural and now I’m right back to the middle of town and Tutuila as a whole is not very cultural. It’s pretty different.

This past week was good though. So the deal is my companion has been here for 3 weeks but his comp hurt his leg and had to go home so he’d been on an exchange with the Zone Leaders for 2 weeks before I got here. So we’re pretty much both new in the area so we’re just trying to get to know members and whatever investigators are in the area. So this past week we got heaps of names of people to go visit and we got to know some great members. So this next week everything should pick up and we should be pretty busy. So all in all everything is pretty great! Sorry for the short message but I’ll have more to talk about next week! Love you all.
Elder Erickson
Baptism with Ioane (9 years old)

Baptism with Ioane (9 years old)

That lookout with the waterfall in our area was all misted over. Is "Misy Mountain Hop" too much of a cliche caption? #LedZep

That lookout with the waterfall in our area was all misted over. Is “Misy Mountain Hop” too much of a cliche caption? #LedZep

This is the view from our front yard. We walk along and look at Pago Pago Bay every day (rhyme whaddup).

This is the view from our front yard. We walk along and look at Pago Pago Bay every day (rhyme whaddup).

One last one of Elder Hayes and I. :'(

One last one of Elder Hayes and I. 😥

The new bedroom

The new bedroom

The senior couple in Pago Pago, the Saunders, are from Calgary, Canada and in-laws to our own Salmon family.

The senior couple in Pago Pago, the Saunders, are from Calgary, Canada and in-laws to our own Salmon family.

