On the Road Again

June 8, 2015

Hey! Good week this week. So Tutuila is still kind of freaking me out. I have trouble having normal conversations in English and the chapel has A/C so it’s still taking some getting used to. So since both my companion and I are new in the area we didn’t really have much to go off of when we first got here. But recently we’ve been meeting a lot of members and getting familiar with the area so everything’s picking up. We’ve got a couple investigators that are progressing and our ward leaders are really helpful so the work is moving forward. Life is good too.

OK confession time. There are times in the last 10 months when I have been less than perfect in my morning studies, but I decided to recommit to doing exactly what I’m supposed to and I am learning so much. I’m currently in the beginning of Alma (chapter 21) and I plan on starting the New Testament on July 16th (year mark) and finishing right before Christmas so that should be pretty neat. Reading directly about the teachings and life of Jesus Christ right in time for the season of His birth. I think that’ll be way cool.

Other things that happened this week….

I had my first hot shower since I’ve been in the field (about 10 months) so that was kinda nice.
I’ve had more McDonalds here in this area in 2 weeks than in my entire mission.
Chinese food here is familiar Chinese food. Western Samoan Chinese food is a piece of fried chicken, a hot dog, runny scrambled eggs, and some chicken veggie mix thing.

I’m not sure what else to put in here. Send me any suggestions you’ve got!

Love you heaps.

Elder Erickson


June 15, 2015

Hey hey hey! Glad to hear you’re all doing well! So sad that the Nelsons are no longer just 15 minutes down the road. But I guess we’ve just got another excuse to go visit our nation’s capital! I send my love and appreciation for all they’ve done for me and my family. Faafetai mo mea uma. Alofa atu tele.

On another note I’m getting transferred (again) to another town here on Tutuila. Tafuna. My new companion is going to be Elder Siaki from Upolu. It should be interesting having my first native Samoan companion but I’ve heard nothing but incredible things about both the areas and my new comp so I’m really excited to have a(nother) new experience. It is kind of bittersweet because I am finally settling into the new area and we’ve found and started teaching some pretty awesome investigators. It should be fine (“I’ll go where You want me to go dear Lord”).

So this past week I had one of the most powerful lessons I’ve had on my mission. We had our ward mission leader and another member who helps out all the missionaries help us out. It was the first lesson on the restoration and the Spirit was so powerful. I had the chance to teach the part on the Book of Mormon and how if the Book of Mormon is the word of God then everything else is true. Joseph Smith did see Heavenly Father and Jesus Christ. The Priesthood of God was restored to the Earth through the prophet Joseph Smith. Today there is a living Prophet of God on the Earth. I know that these statements are true. I’ve spent too much blood, sweat, and vomit on these past 11 months to be sharing a “nice story”. I know that a 14 year old boy’s prayer and faith changed the world and I need to do my part to share it with the world. I love my Savior and I love my Heavenly Father and over the past 11 months I’ve come to know them both in ways I didn’t know were possible. They have blessed me with love for people I could not understand, patience and long-suffering with some annoyances, and there is no doubt that I have had instances where I’ve been blessed with the gift of tongues. I know that there is no way I could communicate in a new language after only 11 months without the help of our Heavenly Father. I’m so grateful for all He does for me.

I love you all so much. Thank you for your love and strength each week in your emails. I’m incredibly blessed to have such great family and friends but more importantly family who are my friends. Have a great one and know I pray for you all the time.

Elder Erickson

God bless America. It is kind of nice being on some sort of American Soil.

God bless America. It is kind of nice being on some sort of American Soil.

While on an exchange I did some service mixing and spreading some cement to make a sidewalk.

While on an exchange I did some service mixing and spreading some cement to make a sidewalk.

Half of our MTC group is here in Tutuila so we got to meet up at our recent Zone Conference. L to R Elders Wallwork, Hunter, Afuvai, Leiataua, and I.

Half of our MTC group is here in Tutuila so we got to meet up at our recent Zone Conference. L to R Elders Wallwork, Hunter, Afuvai, Leiataua, and I.

So from L to R. B Mac, Me, Elder Perkins, Brother Malala. B Mac is a popular Samoan singer and he's been coming to church and we're starting to teach him lessons so it's pretty cool. He gave Elder Perkins and I an autographed copy of a Samoan movie he's in. He's way cool and hopefully accepts the Gospel.

So from L to R. B Mac, Me, Elder Perkins, Brother Malala. B Mac is a popular Samoan singer and he’s been coming to church and we’re starting to teach him lessons so it’s pretty cool. He gave Elder Perkins and I an autographed copy of a Samoan movie he’s in. He’s way cool and hopefully accepts the Gospel.

