Too Blessed to be Stressed

Hey so all is great in the new area. I love it over here. I don’t know if it’s just because I didn’t really want to leave Siumu or what but my last area just didn’t have great vibes. Tafuna is great though! There’s lots of work to do, my companion is great, the family we live with is unreal awesome, the rest of the Elders in the district are wonderful, so far…so good.

So this past week was just trying to meet members and show me around a bit. There are so many back roads and houses in our area. But that’s good. More people to share the gospel with ;). Elder Siaki is great. He finishes in September so I could very well be his last companion. He’s a really hard worker and doesn’t mind helping me with my Samoan. Here in Tafuna there are a fair amount of people that speak English (Tutuila as a whole really) but we still teach and talk in Samoan. Coming over here to Tutuila I was kind of worried that I might loose some of my Samoan because this island has a reputation of being more English speaking. Honestly though you speak as much Samoan or English as you want. Just pick what you want to speak.

Elder Vaai is in my district too! He’s companions with the District Leader so we’ll be doing some exchanges. I’m excited because he’ll be able to see how much (if I have) grown since my first day. Pretty cool for the two of us. So a quick run down of the district. Elder Siaki- from Sauinatu, Upolu. Elders Havea, Uasilaa, and Funganitao- from Tonga. Elder Vaai- Samoan from Texas. And Me- Georgia. So it’s pretty interesting. There are three languages that can be spoken at all times. Most of the time it’s all in Samoan though because that’s the best common ground for all of us. It’s my first time having Tongan Elders around and I love it! It’s way cool. Tongan sounds like jibberish to me but hopefully I’ll pick some up.

The family that we live with it’s just Mom, Dad, and one son on a mission (the rest are older and out of the house). Our house is like a mission house 20 feet away from the family’s house. The Willis’ have had the missionaries stay with them for 25 years now. Every two weeks or so Sister Willis does shopping for us so our house is full of food that I only dreamed of in Upolu. Cereal, eggs, pancake mix, bread and sandwich stuff. The list goes on and on. So much food. Haha honestly the only way I can describe my feelings right now is “blessed”.

So all in all everything is awesome. I hope it’s the same at home. Sounds like it is! Sounds like you’re having lots of summer-time fun. Keep it up! Love you so much and I’ll write more next week. Kind of a area report this week.

Alofa atu.

Elder Erickson

Just climbing coconut trees to get some fresh drinks. No big deal.

Just climbing coconut trees to get some fresh drinks. No big deal.

District P-day in Aunuu. Our district only has 6 Elders but then two other districts planned the same outing so there are some extra Elders.

District P-day in Aunuu. Our district only has 6 Elders but then two other districts planned the same outing so there are some extra Elders.

