Changes

Hey! So kind of a crazy weird week this week. First and foremost we found out today that President and Sister Tolman are getting released. It’s a medical release. There will be an interim couple to look over the mission until they call a new President. It’s crazy! I was supposed to have President Tolman as my mission president for my entire mission and now I’ll have (at least) three. The Tolmans have done so much for this mission and for me as a missionary and individual. They’ll truly be missed. We’re excited and anxious to see who is going to replace them and how they’re going to run things. I’m sure it’ll be a slight adjustment.

Luckily, we did have a zone conference this past Tuesday so I did get to see and shake hands with President and Sister Tolman one last time. It was a great conference. Lots of “how to take better to best”. Good stuff to build on because no one is perfect.

Rest of the week was pretty normal. We’ve got two baptisms coming up this Saturday the 22nd. We’re excited for that. One guy (13 years old) and his sister (8 years old). We’re teaching their mom as well but we have to get her married and have her quit smoking first. She grew up a strong Methodist (parents and both sets of grandparents were ministers) so she’s got a really strong foundation in the Bible. She’s converted though because we’ve helped answer questions and show her answers out of the Bible. She really enjoyed the Plan of Salvation with the scriptures from Peter and Corinthians about the Spirit World. It’s fun to teach her because she has honest concerns and loves to learn.

That’s one of the best parts of being a missionary. You get to help people find knowledge that they’ve been searching for and you can just see them light up and they say “I can’t believe I didn’t see that before!”. It’s incredible. As the teacher you learn so much as well. I’m so grateful for the opportunity to study the gospel and learn so much for my self. I know that the Holy Ghost is helping me make connections and simplifying things I read so I can better understand doctrine. I love it. Haha hopefully I’ll get some of that help when I head back to BYU and start studying.

Love you all so much. I did get your box and you guys are incredible. If there’s one phrase to describe you guy’s it’s “above and beyond”. Thanks for always being better and pushing to improve me and those around you. I’m stoked on the SD cards for some video and I’ve started it up. I’ll fill it and send it back. Lemme know what kind of stuff you wanna see.

Love you. Manuia le vaiaso!

Elder Erickson

The view from one of our lessons this past week. One of our investigators works at a resort named Maliu Mai. We just meet and do lessons there because it's usually not busy.

The view from one of our lessons this past week. One of our investigators works at a resort named Maliu Mai. We just meet and do lessons there because it’s usually not busy.

Went with the Zone Leaders up on a hill that looks out over my area and a good portion of the island. Reminds me of going up the mountains in Provo and looking out over the town.

Went with the Zone Leaders up on a hill that looks out over my area and a good portion of the island. Reminds me of going up the mountains in Provo and looking out over the town.

We went to this house and the family had a bat hanging next to a papaya. I'm not sure what they were keeping it around for. Still pretty neat though!

We went to this house and the family had a bat hanging next to a papaya. I’m not sure what they were keeping it around for. Still pretty neat though!

We played pool after one of our lessons this week. It was fun! Elder Siaki beat me though so I may have to go again and practice.

We played pool after one of our lessons this week. It was fun! Elder Siaki beat me though so I may have to go again and practice.

