Words Cannot Describe How it Feels

On Sun, Aug 30, 2015 at 11:19 AM, Becky Erickson <erickson.becky@gmail.com> wrote:

I made it back from the BYU drop off and surprisingly it went better than expected. Neither Rachel nor I completely fell apart.it certainly was no easy task to send her on her way, but it is her time to shine and fly. Certainly the first few days will be hard, but she will fit in and find her way.

Rachel’s wisdom teeth extraction did not go well. She was in lots of pain for 5 to 6 days. Bummer! I thought it would only take 2 to 3 days. Rachel still had a bruise and puffy face when we left. Bennett needs to get his out soon as they are almost cutting through the gums! I am considering sending him out to Utah during Thanksgiving break to ski with Brad and then head up to Dr. Liston. We will see.

Now that I am home it is painfully apparent that our family is shrinking. With just the three amigos here the house seems even bigger and less full. It took me two days to walk by Rachel’s room and eventually to go in. I certainly have a huge hole in my heart with her gone.

Recently I had the opportunity to have a fairly in-depth discussion about a broad range of gospel topics, with multiple points-of-view represented. I feel blessed to have the knowledge that I have. I have spent years studying doctrine. But it really doesn’t boil down to years of study. What it boils down to is how the Spirit teaches our hearts. Even the most unlearned person can receive a witness of eternal truths.

I bet you have seen this as a missionary. You teach someone very basic doctrine and a light clicks on in their eyes. A piece of information they never grasp before fills their heart and they become one step closer to the Savior. This experience is precious and remarkable! You are so lucky to be teaching people truth.

I want to tell you I feel comfortable and safe and happy on the road I am on. How are you doing on your journey? I was reading somewhere that often times missionaries reach a point during their two year service when they begin to question the very things they are teaching. I have found that to be true in my life. Sometimes the more I learn, the less I know. Have you experienced this? Any thoughts rumbling around in your brain?

This email is certainly way too long. I will end by saying I love you, and support you, and know you are doing God’s work! I applaud your humble effort to fast once a week so you can fully grasp your language. I pray for your success in this.

Love you! Mom

On Monday, August 31, 2015, Doran Erickson <doran.erickson@myldsmail.net> wrote:

That is true how any point of doctrine can have hundreds of interpretations. To me that just helps cement my belief that we will always need revelation from our Heavenly Father to clarify and guide us as imperfect beings. I’m sure you’ve seen this example but you draw one dot to represent the bible. There are a thousand different straight lines you can draw through the center right? Well draw two dots and draw a line that cuts through both centers. Only one possibility right? That’s why we have the Book of Mormon. To add clarification and understanding. You are right though. Nothing can replace sweet tender manifestations of the Holy Ghost that testify to our very souls that what we are seeing or reading or hearing is true. That’s interesting that a lot of missionaries get confused and start to question stuff. I can see how that’s natural though. At times I’ve asked “Why AM I here? This is a freaking long time.” but then you just have to remember that you’ve been entrusted with the responsibility to share the good news with those who have not yet had the chance. The thing is there is not an answer for everything. As mortals we will never be able to comprehend all the mysteries of God. That’s when you have to check yourself and go back to basics. I have had too many and too strong of witnesses that God loves me and that His gospel was restored to this earth through the prophet Joseph Smith and is continually led by inspired men chosen by God. Seeing that “light” turn on for people is the best part of my job. You read them a scripture or bear testimony or answer a question they have and it just connects. There is nothing that compares to seeing people better understand their Father in Heaven and their real life relationship with Him. Words cannot describe how it feels.

Anyways. Hopefully that offers some kind of help or peace or something. I don’t know. I guess I just want to let you know that I’m so grateful for you tirelessly teaching us the gospel of Jesus Christ. Even though I didn’t appreciate it at the time I do now. Now that I’m much more aware of my Heavenly Father and His plan for us, having a righteous mother helps so so much. Thank you.

Glad the drop in Provo went well. Was it easier the second time around? Or just easier because we all know Rach isn’t a complete dope? Hopefully she does get along with her roomie. It can be pretty tough if your roommate is lame. You get lonely quick and that’s not good. She’ll do well though. Don’t worry too much. Just expect some tears from stress around midterms and finals. At least you don’t have to worry about that from me :).

Love you so much mother dear. Keep it up.

Elder Erickson

On Mon, Aug 31, 2015 at 4:45 PM, Becky Erickson <erickson.becky@gmail.com> wrote:

You’re adorable. I love your testimony and words. I can see such growth and maturity and you sent to that on your mission. I love your testimony and who you have deep and, become more humble, and committed.

How is Samoa? You’re on the downside and I hope hanging in there. Just a few more days with your companion, right? Where were you all day today on p-day? Doing anything fun?

On Monday, August 31, 2015, Doran Erickson <doran.erickson@myldsmail.net> wrote:

Yeah so Samoa is good. Sometimes it’s frustrating because people keep thinking I’m new because I let Elder Siaki talk most of the time. Which is on me. But in a week it’ll be on me to lead everything so no worries. Today we just cleaned the house, made food for our district and played volleyball. It was cool. Nothing special.

On Mon, Aug 31, 2015 at 5:13 PM, Becky Erickson <erickson.becky@gmail.com> wrote:

It was really weird to be at BYU and not have you there. Seeing Brad, Brady, all these return missionaries; Rachel and everyone checking in…it felt weird. It’s a pretty cool place there. Have you thought anything about what you want to do when you get back?

On Tuesday, September 1, 2015, Doran Erickson <doran.erickson@myldsmail.net> wrote:

Haha, plenty of thoughts. I’ll hit you with some next week.

Panorama from the resort Maliu Mai where we meet up with one of the family's we're working with. American Samoa has some beautiful green mountains and way blue water.

Panorama from the resort Maliu Mai where we meet up with one of the family’s we’re working with. American Samoa has some beautiful green mountains and way blue water.

The Willis' son just came home from his mission in Australia. He got all these ula's and passed them to us (Hint hint for my coming home). He just got called as one of our Ward Mission Leaders as well so we're looking forward to working with him.

The Willis’ son just came home from his mission in Australia. He got all these ula’s and passed them to us (Hint hint for my coming home). He just got called as one of our Ward Mission Leaders as well so we’re looking forward to working with him.

 

