Membership Has It’s Privileges

Hey all. Great week here in Tafuna. So the main highlight of this past week was baptizing Moana. She’s been coming to church for a while because she’s staying in a house owned by our ward mission leader. She’s been really great to work with but honestly wasn’t too difficult. She was ready and just needed to be taught and invited. Honestly that’s been the case with most of my investigators/people I’ve baptized and I think it’s because most (if not all) were referrals from members. It makes such a difference when members come to us with names of family and friends that they think are ready for the gospel. That’s when we a missionaries are able to do our main job of just teaching and baptizing.

This coming Saturday we’ve got another baptism scheduled for one of our other wards. President Hannemann has challenged us to have 3 baptisms a week and I was kind of bummed that we didn’t reach that goal this past month. It wasn’t anything on us it was just a result of other people’s decisions. But as a result of that Elder Speakman and I put more effort into finding people that do want to listen. I saw this past week that as we were out, working, doing what we’re supposed to be doing, that the Lord leads us to people or leads people to us.

I’m excited about the coming weeks and months before 2015 comes to an end. We’re finding some great people and setting new things up with the wards. We’re really really trying to get the ward leaders on board with trying out some new things and getting their help with fellow-shipping and what-not.

Elder Speakman is great. He’s really getting more comfortable and I was really proud this last week as I asked him to prepare to lead two lessons that he responded enthusiastically and really did well. It just gives me flash backs of my own training where all I could do is sit there, read my script and pray that they understood some part of what I said. Now I’m here leading another missionary through the same kind of situations. It’s crazy to look back and see my progression and then look forward and see how much further I can go.

I’m so thankful for the Gospel and for my Savior, Jesus Christ.

Last night we were chatting with our ward mission leader who just recently got off his mission in Australia. He said that Elder Bednar visited and was asked how he finds time to study scriptures with his busy schedule as an Apostle. He said that whenever he has time, he reads. Whenever he’s in the car or waiting for something or whatever. That kinda hit me because I already read scriptures every day for 3+ hours but it’d be nice to do it more during the day when I’ve got down time. I’m going to do that more now. Especially with the New Testament and Doctrine and Covenants. Just be more conscious of time and how I’m using it.

I love you all so so much.

Elder Erickson

Moana, Speakman, and I on the day of Moana's baptism.

Moana, Speakman, and I on the day of Moana’s baptism.

At the Napa Auto Parts in our area they've got the island of Tutuila painted on the wall and the star is my area of Tafuna. Also, "shout-out" to my sister Rachel for the handsome Llama Tie from Peru.

At the Napa Auto Parts in our area they’ve got the island of Tutuila painted on the wall and the star is my area of Tafuna. Also, “shout-out” to my sister Rachel for the handsome Llama Tie from Peru.

