The Christmas Deal

Hey so these past 2 weeks (missed a report last week) have been pretty crazy and just filled with meetings! That’s the thing that I forgot about in Tutuila. Haha being a plane ride away from the office you don’t have as many meetings. Honestly since I’ve been here it’s been a lot of running around and meetings/practices for our Upolu Christmas program.

So this week we’re doing our Christmas deal and it’s actually pretty cool. So the 23rd we’re going back to my old zone and doing a morning devotional on the beach and then service at a primary school. Should be great. Then we’re gonna bathe in a spring that’s back there and prep for our zone skits/dances. Ours will be interesting as we’ve been practicing for about a week and a half. It’s going to be in front of the whole village and the LMS church there is doing entertainment as well. I’ll be sure to shoot video for you guys. Then the 24th we’re having a Christmas lunch and song practice until the evening where we’re singing in front of the Samoan government building for all the parliament members! Haha we’ll see how that goes as well. I’ll try and get video for that as well! So that should be really cool.
It has been fun getting together with a lot of my good friends here in Upolu lately. I can’t believe that I’ve only got 6 months left and that I’m one of the more seasoned guys out here. I can remember being brand new and not knowing anything and now I’m comfortable and know how things go. It’s just crazy to see progression. Can’t wait to see what the next 6 months bring though.
I know you’re probably looking for a great Christmas thought from me this week but to be honest it’s really hard for me to catch the “Christmas Spirit” here in tropical Samoa. It’s just so different from what I’ve grown up with and what Christmas “is”. I will share this though. Although I’m 6590 miles away from home and sweating instead of freezing I know that Christ lives. I know that our Savior and Redeemer was born in such humble beginnings years ago in order to give all of human kind the greatest gift of all. The Atonement. I know that Jesus Christ lived, suffered, died, and was resurrected so that all of us can have a chance to live forever with our loving Heavenly Father. Haha now that I know a little about life with chickens and pigs running around the house I can only imagine the circumstances of our Saviors birth and that thought is what is sticking with me for Christmas 2015. How humble and meek Christ was. And how much further I have to go in my own self improvement. I’m so happy that I chose to come out on a mission and to spend two full years sharing with people that God loves them and that Jesus Christ has suffered for our sins and has provided a way for us to dwell with our Heavenly Father forever along with our families. I know that the Restored Gospel of Jesus Christ is true. There’s no doubt.
Thanks for all your love. Can’t wait to see your beautiful faces this week :).
Elder Doran Erickson
P1080276
