Simple Humility and a Bible Challenge

Dear Mom:

Thanks so much for your love and support. Words will never express how much your love and assistance means to me. Love you. And don’t worry about the Christmas box not arriving by the 25th. I got it this past Tuesday so thanks for your gifts! I guess not having presents to open helped me get closer to my Samoan side and really appreciate what matters ~ relationships and love, not gifts (although those are nice as well ;)).

Being here in Samoa I hope I really learn to simplify. That’s one thing I need to work on. I guess if I was going to translate that into a Christ-like attribute it’d be humility, eh? I know that’s one thing I need to work on. And I’ve learned that the way you become more like the Savior is by studying his life and actions.

So … along with that I just wanted to let you know that I’ve accepted your Bible challenge. I’m reading 8 pages a day to finish the OT and I need to start slipping in the NT when I’ve got time as well. Thanks for always pushing me to go harder and do better. You’re the best. Please send my love and let dad read this as well as it all applies to him as well I suppose.

I know I’ve only got 6 months left but I really want to work hard and finish strong.

Love you so much.

Doran

Back to sitting on fala (woven mats) and fale o'os (traditional Samoan houses)

Back to sitting on fala (woven mats) and fale o’os (traditional Samoan houses)

Selfie in the fale O'os

Selfie in the fale O’os

Homies.

Homies.

