Release Date

On Tuesday, March 1, 2016, Samoa Apia Mission wrote:

Dear Sister Erickson,

I apologize for not getting back with you in October. In looking at the date of the last email, that was shortly after the time we were changing mission presidents and things were very chaotic. Elder Erickson’s release date is June 3rd. I would check with your stake president to see if he would be willing to release Elder Erickson on the phone. Would Skype be an option? President Hannemann will not be in the office until next week, so I cannot pin down anything further than that. Sorry I missed your call today, I was running sick missionaries to the doctor. The nurse arrives March 26th and life should settle down.

I talked to Elder Erickson yesterday as the sores on his foot seem to be coming back. Dr. Goodman went to the pharmacy and got some strong antifungal and broad spectrum antibiotic cream. Hopefully this does the trick. I will send it over across the island tomorrow where Elder Erickson is serving. I am the one who has taken him to the doctor many times for his foot, so have got a chance to know him. He is a wonderful, faithful missionary, and I love and appreciate his hard work, even when his foot is hurting.

Hope this info is helpful. I will watch for further emails, and promise a quick response. Just for your information, Samoa is literally shutting down for the next two days for the national elections. Stores, gas stations, businesses will all be closed by law, including the mission office. That means I will not be in the office again until Monday morning.

Sincerely,

Sister Ellsworth
Mission Secretary
Samoa Apia Mission
Office: 64154 Fax: 64222
Email: 2018403@ldschurch.org

On Tuesday, March 1, 2016, Becky Erickson wrote:

Thanks for update! Does this mean he will hit Atlanta on June 3 or leave Samoa on June 3? The day/time change gets me all messed up. We are having him come home first, then we will come back to Samoa some weeks later, but trying to book flights and schedule a friend’s wedding is tricky.

Basically, when will my son be in my arms?😜. I understand you might not have exact flight information yet, but is June 3 my June 3 or Samoa June 3?

From: Becky Erickson [mailto:erickson.becky@gmail.com]
Sent: Wednesday, 2 March 2016 5:27 p.m.
To: Samoa Apia Mission
Subject: Re: Release date

I rushed to get a reply to you without saying thank you for thing care of my son. Forgive me!

Thank you, thank you, thank you for everything you have done for Elder Erickson and his feet. We really are in the dark about the whole situation and can’t seem to figure out that’s happening.

Can you shed some light on how, why, and what the whole feet thing is about? Is there something we can encourage him to do to prevent flare ups? Can we send a sock, medicine, or cream, or do some voodoo dance that may help? I guess our prayers are not quite reaching the island…

Again, bless you and thank you for all you do for Elder Erickson and all the other missionaries in Samoa. What a daunting task you have before you! Daunting but wonderful I imagine!

Love,

Becky Erickson

From: Becky Erickson
Date: Wednesday, March 2, 2016
Subject: Release date
To: Samoa Apia Mission

Sister Ellsworth,

I just found your blog (http://ellsworthsinparadise.blogspot.com/) and was totally cracking up while reading it. Why have I not read your posts before tonight? Thank for your insights and musings while in Samoa. My son only has 3 months left and I still feel like I know next to nothing about his mission life.

By the way…I have to say Senior missionaries ROCK!!!!! I loved the couples from my mission days and love that my parents have served so much. My parents served in Russia some years ago, then 2 stateside missions and just last week were called to Leeds, England. I doubt they will have snorkeling as an option for them! Again, You Seniors ROCK!!!!

Becky

