Putting My Best Foot Forward

So here is a short update from the week. I will start with a spiritual insight I learned from the lessons we’ve taught the past week. I’ve just been reminded and been re-enlightened to how truly simple the gospel/ having a fulfilling life can be. It’s kind of like an equation, and I’m not saying everything’s going to be rainbows and butterflies if you follow it, but if we follow the Gospel of Jesus Christ we will be happy. If we have faith, repent, are baptized (and stay true to our covenants), receive the gift (and listen to promptings from) the Holy Ghost, and endure to the end everything will work out in the end. It may not be exactly what we expect along the way but as we stay on the path eventually we will end up exactly where we’re promised we’ll end up. With our loving Heavenly Father and His son Jesus Christ in the Celestial Kingdom where we will receive a fullness of joy and blessings. We’re here on this earth to “prepare to meet God” and “perform our labors” (sorry if not exact I’m used to quoting the Samoan translation) (Alma 34:32).

For behold, this life is the time for men to prepare to meet God; yea, behold the day of this life is the day for men to perform their labors. (Alma 34:32)

As long as we do those to the fullness of our ability we’ll be blessed and rewarded. I know that God loves us and has prepared a way for us to be happy in this life and in the eternities. I know that through the Atonement of Jesus Christ we can be clean and worthy to live with God. I love the Gospel and the opportunity I have to share parts of it with people every single day. I hope this uplifts someone 🙂

That said, I’ve been in the house all week with my bad foot which stinks. Despite my limitations, but we have three baptisms scheduled this week which is amazing! One on Thursday for Apia 1st Ward and one for both Apia 1st 2nd Wards on Sat. I am thankful to still be able to put in work even with a bum foot. Really, I am just trying to do what I can to fix it. It’s been a long time that I’ve had it – since about the end of Dec/beginning of Jan. I’m just try to keep it clean and follow instructions that they give me. Not much else to do but pray and wait.

Also, we just got news that my companion got his visa to New Zealand as well! I’m pretty bummed to see him go. Elder Saito has been a great help to me since I’ve been in the area and I know he’ll do well in Wellington. I guess I’ll get a new companion? I may try and take advantage of this change and get another round in the office to eradicate the thing that’s messing up my body. We’ll see.

Or, I may be headed your way sooner than June. We had a zone meeting with President and the first thing he says to me while shaking my hand is, “You’re probably going home.” We talked and he sent an email and picture to the area presidency to which they replied with some further instructions (getting a certain antibiotic and continuation of the cream and what not).

Don’t freak please. It’s mostly because this happened to me before, got better, but now it’s back worse and it has only been about 2.5/3 weeks later. Currently I’m waiting on that certain antibiotic pill which goes for 10 days and I keep up with the antibiotic cream and soaking my foot morn and night in hot salty water. SO, I guess after the pills run their course we’ll reevaluate. That’s all I know.

And yes, I have had a blessing. I guess what this foot trial has taught me, and what I’ve come to terms with recently, is that we just have to accept what comes. Even if we’ve got plans and goals (and they may be worthy and great) they may not be exactly what Heavenly Father has in mind. In regards with my foot, I’ve got to do what’s best for my health because this could potentially affect me further down the line and worst case they chop off my foot. Haha

I’m sure it won’t come to that! But in Samoa they might! Haha! I don’t know, people keep joking about it but sometimes it’s like one of those half jokes where they could be a little serious. As I said, I think that’s worst case. I’m hopping straight on a plane the minute someone legit recommends that. Or, I could have one of the homies sterilize a machete and go for it?!?

Seriously, however, I’ve realized that I’ve just got to do what’s best and what comes because of that comes. Feel free to fast and pray for me. That’s always appreciated. I’ve got to follow the doctor’s instructions (even though I don’t have a real diagnosis) and try and fix it.

Thanks for your concern and love. I’ll update you when I actually know something. Love you all.

After reading this weekly post Becky sent a message to the mission office and received the following:

Sister Erickson,

Elder Erickson came into the office yesterday, and yes, his foot does look worse. The dentist called in a prescription for Cipro, a different antibiotic than he has been on before. I am going to forward the pictures he sent you to Dr. Olsen in New Zealand and get his opinion. If this antibiotic does not work, then there is a good chance he will have to come home. I will try to keep you posted.

Also, today I met with the mission president on release dates. It seems that I sent you the wrong date for Elder Erickson’s release. I apologize! His earliest release date is June 16th, unless of course he is released early on a medical release. I will keep you updated on how Elder Erickson is responding to the new antibiotic, and any other further developments.

Sincerely,

Sister Ellsworth

Mission Secretary

Nice graffiti. Couldn't stand staying the house so we went and road our bikes along the harbor.

Nice graffiti. Couldn’t stand staying the house so we went and road our bikes along the harbor.

Bad Foot

Bad Foot

Good Foot

Good Foot

 

