Moving On and Looking Forward

It’s been just over a month now and I just wanted to send out one last message/report about how the transition has been coming from Samoa and being a missionary to being home in Georgia and being a return missionary.

In all I don’t feel that in coming home early I was cut short or that I missed out on the last two months. As I was preparing to start my mission my mom mentioned that when she finished up her 18 months as a missionary she was done. She felt that she served her time and once she finished up she felt fine with the service she gave. That’s how I started my mission and what I kept in mind all through out my time in Samoa. I wanted to serve with the end in mind with no regrets. I feel that I served well and that I left it all out there. I was able to “invite others to come unto Christ” and help individuals come to the knowledge that they have a Heavenly Father that loves them and has a plan for each one of us. I learned the same and was able to really learn a lot. As one dear friend and former companion put it “look at all the stuff you’re taking home. Look at all the experiences and things you’ve learned out here. That’s what you should focus on. Now you can take those things home  and apply them to the real world”. That’s what I plan on doing. I know that our Heavenly Father has the larger picture and an eternal perspective in mind. We may not know what the plan is but as long as we trust in Him everything will turn out for the best. I will forever cherish the time I served as a missionary for the Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints in Samoa. I learned so much. Made friends and fostered relationships that will last forever. I came to know with no doubt that Jesus Christ lives. I know that through the prophet Joseph Smith the fullness of the Gospel was restored to the Earth. I know that the Book of Mormon is the word of God and a powerful witness that Jesus Christ is our Savior. The Book of Mormon is also a testimony that by the power of God, Joseph Smith translated that ancient record as another witness of his divine calling as a prophet. All one has to do is read with true intent of finding out that it is true and pray with a willingness to act upon the answer they receive. I know there is a living prophet on the earth today and that through revelation can help counsel and guide us in our daily lives. I’ll be forever grateful for my time and experiences in Samoa.

Ou te fia taumafai e faasoa se savali ma faafetai pu’upu’u i le gagaga o le Faasamoa. O le a ou le galo lo’u timi ma le tagata sa ou feloa’i i le atanu’u pele o Samoa. Ou te iloa e vaivai fo’i lo’u tusi o le faasamoa. Faafetai mo tou onosa’i. I Samoa sa ou a’oa’o tele mea. O le mea e sili o ta’ua o le uiga o le mea o ‘alofa’. I le amataga o lo’u misiona sa ou le iloa le gagaga o le tagata Samoa, sa ou le fiafia le mea ai, ma e le masani mo le tau. E tele mea faigata i le amataga. Pe i lo’u eria muamua sa ou feloa’i tele tagata fiafia. O latou sa fesoasoani a’u aso uma i le gagaga, le aganuu, ma tele isi mea fo’i. Le mea sa ou a’oa’o mai tagata uma lava o le uiga o alofa. Ou te fia faafetai i tagata uma lava sa ou feloa’i ma talatalanoa i Samoa mo latou fesoasoani ma a’afia i lo’u olaga. O le a ou le galo otou. O outou o lo’u uo pea lava. Faafetai mo mea uma lava. Ou te alofa ia te outou.

Thank you all for your support and love. May God bless you and your families with all that you strive to accomplish.

 

With love,

Elder Erickson

